Meet Millie

Millie is an IDP from Giwa. She is a single mother in her early 30’s who lives with her two children and mother. As you will see, her english is very good and she was the most wonderful interpreter for me. She attended clinic days and would even walk with me all over camp to find particular patients. I left her with a book, Where Woman Have No Doctor, and when I return I plan to see if she is interested in training with me.  

This is raw footage shot by Jenn Winter, who is hoping to create a documentary of the IDPs in Kenya. When she mentions “10,000”, that is Kenyan shillings, worth only a little over $100 in US. The government gave each IDP family that money and instructed them to leave the arena and go start their lives over. A “shamba” is a farm/land.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: New Perspectives « Midwife In Africa

Leave a comment