Who are IDPs?

I picked up a few reading materials before and during my trip. Most of them, I left behind with friends in Kenya. Without means for school fees, many Kenyans are never taught to read. But for those that can, reading material is a prized possession. Can you imagine having no access to T.V., radio, internet, books or newspapers. I found neighbors bartering with each other at the chance to borrow a newspaper from one month prior. Even those that cannot read will try to make out words and relish each and every photo.

Anyway, there was one magazine that I held on to because the cover story was “IDP – Internally Displaced Persons.” Recently, I was finally able to read it. Please, please read this story. There is more to tell, but you will begin to understand why I must go back.

http://www.awaazmagazine.com/index.php

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Arriving in the Rift Valley « Midwife In Africa
  2. Trackback: New Perspectives « Midwife In Africa
  3. Trackback: The Goat Project « Midwife In Africa

Leave a comment