The Goat Project

If only I had better access to a computer, so much happens here that I could write a post each day. Since I last wrote for example, we have provided first aid and paid for care of a man and ten year old child after a motorbike accident, cared for dozens of children with colds and infected sores, checked on a postpartum mother who delivered alone in her home, provided free malaria tests and prenatal care, and assisted with our first birth at GIWA (now known as Shalom).

But,  when you only make it to town once a week and have to walk almost an hour to the road, wait for a matatu with free space, navigate through the busy streets of Nakuru, buy supplies in various markets, pay per minute to use a not-so-fast computer and make it home before dark; it makes for a busy day. I guess those stories will have to wait until I return home to my laptop and a way to upload pictures.

For today I want to tell you all about the Goat Project. I made contact with the HIV support group that meets regularly at Shalom. The current elected leader (chairman) of Shalom began a group back at The Showgrounds, which is where the IDPs first fled during the clashes of 2007 . He continued a group at the next camp Mawingu (where residents from Shalom were moved from and where IDPs are still in tents), and now at Shalom. The group is small, only about ten people currently. We know there are more in the village and the meetings are discrete and confidential, but as you can imagine due to stigma and shame, very few HIV+ people are willing to come forward.

I have felt very welcomed and bonded easily with the group. The chairman is such a kind and gentle man and it is obvious to me that he has earned and deserves the respect and trust of residents at Shalom, especially in a land where corruption and greed are common. The language barrier makes it difficult for me to talk much to the group, but I can see in their eyes how much they appreciate just being noticed and treated with respect.

At the last meeting, I relayed my desire to fund an income project for the group. I told them it would be up to them to decide what the project would be and to make the funding estimates and plan.

They have decided on goats. They realize the benefit that goat milk will provide for their health as well as the opportunity for income for their families. They also chose goats because they have a shorter gestation and will not require a lot of physical labor to upkeep, which is difficult on days when their disease might keep them in bed.

So, my goal is to fund the building of a goat pen for each member and purchase three goats. The goats will be a specific pure breed, of which there is already a male for breeding in the village. The babies will be given to members in a predetermined order and then once everyone has a goat, they will each be free to do what they wish.

Here is a breakdown of the cost:

  • Iron sheets for roofs                                            $16.00
  • Post timber                                                                    7.70
  • Cut timber for floors and walls                            12.00
  • Nails                                                                                  2.80
  • Hardware (hinges and locks)                                  1.50

Total cost for one pen = $40.00      Cost for ten pens = $400.00

  • Goats               $120.00 each x 3 = $360.00
  • Transport – goats and materials =      40.00
  • Transport – 3 people to town =              8.00

Total Cost of Project = $808.00

I am allocating $400 of the donations I have already received. I need to raise the rest of the cost so that I still have enough funds for the clinic and hospital bills before I leave. So, again I am requesting your participation in this effort. You can click the donate button here to fund a pen or a goat or just give a dollar if that is all you have. Every cent will count and it will be a very joyous day when the goats arrive!

Love and Blessings!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Going where needed « Midwife In Africa

Leave a comment